Back From The 2012 National Sports Collectors Convention

The 2012 National Sports Collectors Convention has come to an end.  It was packed with cards, memorabilia, promos, autograph guests, and much much more.

This was the 4th National I’ve attended.  I think it was one of the best.  The promos are one of the main reasons why I go.  Most of my time was spent in the corporate area with Topps, Panini, Upper Deck, and Sportkings.  The lines are well worth the wait.  Throughout the week I will be blogging about the boxes I broke and the promos I received.  I got some really good stuff including a few 1/1′s and a cut signature.  When I got home this afternoon, I spent about six hours getting everything organized for the week.

The National is one of those events collectors should experience at least once.  Its more than just a show.  You can interact directly with manufacturers, and you get to see a lot of collectors like yourself.  Some people may not like waiting in line for the promos, but that’s where you can meet some great people.

I broke something like six or so boxes.  When I got home, Panini had sent two more for Sports Card Info to review.  The cardboard just won’t stop :-)  Take a look at some of the photos.  For those that attended, I hope you all had a great time.  More stuff coming soon.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Panini’s booth was one of the busiest.  Collectors were lining up two hours before the wrapper redemption program started.

Photobucket

On Friday, Washington Nationals pitching prospect Ryan Tatusko stopped by the Panini booth to sign autographs.  Ryan has checked out Sports Card Info before and last year I did an interview with him.  You can check out his blog here.

Photobucket

Photobucket

The Topps booth was another busy area, especially right when the show opened.  Collectors were looking for Gypsy Queen minis and Bowman Platinum Blue parallel sets.  The Topps Mini boxes seemed to be popular too.

Photobucket

2012 Topps Football

Photobucket

2012 Topps Football

Photobucket

Photobucket

Some of the Black Swamp Find featured at the Heritage Auction booth.

Photobucket

Christy Mathewson E98 Black Swamp Find

Photobucket

Early 1920s Babe Ruth jersey purchased for $4.4 million.

Photobucket

Orioles 6x All-Star and 4x Gold Glove winner Bobby Grich

Photobucket

Tigers 5x All-Star and 3x World Series Champion Jack Morris

Photobucket

Bob Gibson

Photobucket

This was as close as I could get to Panini’s VIP party.  In order to get invited, you had to purchase $6,500.00 worth of Panini products.

3 Responses

  1. I’m hoping next year that I can take my son and daughter down to it. I’ve never been to one yet and I think it would be fun to go and see what all happens and whats all involved. It looks like you had fun there!

  2. Went to my first & only one in Detroit (#2) back in 1981 — was like a kid in a candy store that Friday afternoon!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 188 other followers

