Dig Out Those Pro Set Cards

When I think of high-end cards, the last product that comes to mind is Pro Set.  Pro Set is one is one of those companies that made a set for every man, woman, and child on Earth.  They began producing cards at the very height of overproduction within the industry.  Despite making so many cards, there are a few valuable errors and promos that continue to sell for extremely high amounts of money.

Photobucket

Limited to 10,000 copies, this Vince Lombardi Trophy hologram can be found in packs of 1990 Pro Set.  To this day these can be found selling for $40.00 – $100.00 a piece.  It was rumored that some collectors would use small metal detectors to find these because each card contains a small amount of metal.  They also made a hologram of the Stanley Cup Trophy that sells for about $75.00.

Photobucket

Pro Set founder Ludwell Denny even had a card made that was given out for promotional purposes.  These have been known to sell for well over $150.00.

Photobucket

Who the hell is Gizmo Williams?  He played for the Eagles for a little bit, but then headed up to Canada.  In 2006 he was inducted into the Canadian Football Hall of Fame.  He didn’t make that big of an impression with American Football, but his ’89 Pro Set card is still popular with collectors.  This error has the word “football” misspelled on the back and there is “no scouting” photo on the front.  These sell for over $70.00.

Photobucket

These I find to be the most interesting.  These cards were given to Pro Set executives explaining all of the variations, errors, and promos.  For not even having a player on them, they can easily bring in over $40.00.

Over Pro Set’s career in the trading card industry, they produced numerous errors, variations, and promos that still hold their value today.  The above cards are just some of Pro Set’s most valuable cards collectors keep their eyes open for.  It kinda makes you want to go through your old boxes checking for any variations or errors you might have overlooked.

Check out this seller’s completed auctions for a ton of rare Pro Set cards.

26 Responses

  1. I liked Pro Set back in the day. They introduce football then hockey and pile of non-sport cards of musicians, rappers, and movies. I remember seeing hockey cards at Walmart here in Texas. Despite its overproduction of cards they cared about the collectors. I remember sending me promo cards through the mail.

  2. If anyone has the Manley 772A that mentions his substance abuse, the Lud Denny Promo, or the FACT set with binder, please contact me if you are willing to sell them as I am a Pro Set collector and am trying to finish off my master collection.

    • I came across a box of random football cards i bought at an estate sale. There were actually 9 Lud Denny Cards in it. I don’t need them, just like to keep maybe 1. Let me know if your interested in them. Good condition too.

      • Hello Sam. I’m entirely, 100% interested. Please e-mail me at your soonest convenience regarding this. Do you have an e-mail I could use to discuss this further? Please let me know, I’m very interested, thanks a million.

      • Sam,
        What did you with the rest of those random football cards? Your more than welcome to email me at mstrange@wbhq.com if you still have some of them.

    • I have Pro Set cards for Super Bowl I to XXIV, several error cards, Barry Sanders #102 and ROY with him holding trophy, Aikman #78, Dieon Sanders #36, the 1990 AFL Pro Bowl cards and various others. If you or someone you know are interested, please contact to discuss prices.

  3. I’d be interested in a Lud Denny or the Lombardi Hologram – please let me know if anyone has 1 for sale – marino_13@live.com.au

    • I have the lombardi hologram, give me a price and i’ll consider selling. Not rated but mint card #6,955 of 10m.

  4. i have some cards that iam not sure what there what igot is a proset and its a commemorative set from 1967 to 1990 super bowl if someone could heip with what there worth there a 160 cards

  5. What happened to all these Lud Denny cards? Did you happen to sell them, I would be willing to pay top dollar for just one :) please let me know

  6. looking for the following cards in 1990 Pro set, will pay top dollar, Dexter Manley mentions substance abuse, #338b Lud Denny Promo Card Parody of Bill Parcels, #666b Steve Young Promo card, pro set press inc. ( very similar style to Lud Denny card)
    (not the 49rs QB) Barry Sanders No Rookie of the year trophie on back. Mike Ditka Large Hall Of Fame.

  7. I remembered winning on one of those playbooks a Emmitt Smith jersey signed I believe it was 90,91. Does anyone here know what year that was offerred as a prize on the playbook. Its stored in back of attic and dont feel like finding it. Anyone know what its worth?

  8. I have 2 unopened boxs of Pro Set 90-91 series 1&2 any one interested?Give me a price. First with reasonable price takes them both.Plus i got upperdeck basketball 93-94 series 1,90 topps chrome baseball&lots more. Thx Robert

  9. I have a pro -set collectors book full of old card if someone wants to take a look please email me they book and any card in it is for sale ….thanks

  10. I have a full box of proset cards for sale make an offer I live in Meriden,CT email baloghjeremy@gmail.com

  11. Very interesting facts. I’m very pleased with the information you have gathered – just because I so happened to own over 4,000 cards of the 1990 Pro Set alone +++ 23 total cards of Ludwell Denny.

  12. By the way, another interesting card to the 1990 pro set is “Fred Marion with BELT”.
    Look it up…You won’t regret. I also have 12 of them in MINT condition

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 188 other followers

