Missing Paterno

Joe Paterno was due to have his first certified autographed card included in 2008 Topps Mayo Cut Plug football, but that doesn’t seem to be the case.  Ever since the release of this product I have been watching eBay for one to pop-up, but none ever have.  The other day Topps released the SP list for the autograph, relic, and token cards in which Joe Paterno’s name did not appear.  To my surprise I find out that he never made it into the final checklist.  This really surprised me because it looked as if they already had the card made when looking at their promotional video for the product.  Perhaps they have it made and they couldn’t get it into the product fast enough.  Could they include this card in another version of Topps Mayo?  If they never produced the card, I think thats a dirty trick to play on collectors.

 Photobucket

One Response

  1. Its probably just a mock up.

Leave a comment