2008 Tristar Prospects Plus Blaster Review

On Thursday I received my first package from Tristar.  Inside was a blaster box of 2008 Tristar Prospects Plus.  There are 5 packs per box with 6 cards per pack.  Lets review it!

Key:
1 Baseball = Poor
Photobucket

5 Baseballs = Perfect
Photobucket

 

Design: Photobucket

The borders have a chrome or foil finish which makes them visually appealing.  The border design looks as if every card is die-cut, but when you move in closer you’ll find thats not the case.  There are a variety of die-cut parallels in this product, but I don’t think the base cards should have a design that resembles the parallels.  I do like how each team’s color is worked into the borders.

Price: Photobucket

A blaster box of 2008 Tristar Prospects Plus can be picked up for $19.99.  If you’re looking to make your money back its not likely going to happen.  You could get lucky and pull an autograph of Tim Beckham or Buster Posey, but there will be a bunch of lesser known players collectors are going to pull.  The hit I pulled has an eBay value of about $1.00.

Hit Quality:Photobucket  

Every blaster box guarantees 1 autograph.  I got the stated average and pulled an autograph of Edwin Quirarte who is a RHP for the Salem-Keizer Volcanoes.  Last year he went 3-3 with a 2.12 ERA.  The autograph is on a sticker, but I am glad to see that Tristar used a white background which really makes the signature standout.  The Farm Hands set seems to be popular with collectors.

Overall: Photobucket

I give my blaster box 2.5 baseballs out of 5.  I got the stated average, but there wasn’t a big hit.  If you pick up a box at Wal-Mart or Target, you’ll probably get the same results.  If you enjoy collecting prospects, you should have a blast opening one of these boxes.

___________________________________________________________

On Wednesday Tristar sent me an e-mail saying that they will be sending a box of 2009 Tristar PROjections Series 1 for me to review.  For more Sports Card Info videos click here.

Card of the Day: 2009 Topps Heritage Phillies Coaches SP #466

Photobucket