2014 Topps Translucent Football Box Break & Review

 photo trans14fbbox_zpsdcbt2i81.jpg

Update

  • The player names are printed on the cards.  They are on the back in VERY small print.

No.  There is nothing wrong with my scanner.  This is the way the actual cards look.  In fact, the scanned images make them look better.  I’ve enjoyed the online exclusive products Topps has issued in the past.  When I heard about 2014 Topps Translucent Football I jumped all over it because it’s configuration is right up my alley.  There are no base cards, just (2) autographs.

Lets start with what I do like about this product.  I like the clear thick acetate card stock.  I also like how the signatures slightly hover about the photograph.  It gives the autograph a 3D-like look.  What I don’t like are the way the photographs came out.  The pictures are dim and dark.  Topps also didn’t print the player’s name on the card.  Given the poor quality of the pictures, and the lack of names, it can be difficult to figure out who the player is.

I applaud Topps for using clear thick acetate, but I’m not sure what happened with the photos.  Maybe they were under the gun.  I don’t think too many people are busting it, because you can still purchase boxes from the Topps website.  Not many cards are up for sale on eBay either.

Here is what I pulled:

Autos

  • Jimmy Garoppolo
  • David Fales

 photo jimmy15trans_zpsdndyba2q.jpg

 photo fales15trans_zpsmnywiadg.jpg

Card of the Day: Josh Hamilton 2001 Topps Stadium Club #183

 photo joshhamil2001tsc_zpsinxg1uqh.jpg